The kids will be okay

by maximusaurus

At the ripe old age of 27, (I know, I should really start looking in to nursing homes) I am starting to see a generation gap begin to form between me and today’s under-18s, kind of like an iceberg breaking away from the Antarctic shelf.

Sometimes I catch myself thinking; far out, kids these days are way too dependent on technology. They can’t seem to go anywhere or do anything without being glued to their phones or tablets, they play video games instead of LEGO, they text each other instead of socializing face to face… what will happen to society when this lot grow up and take over?

But then I stop and think; hang on, didn’t they say pretty much the same thing about my generation? That life would pass us by cos we were too busy being hypnotized by our Gameboys and our Tamagotchis? That violent video games would turn us into a generation of murderers and sociopaths? (About that; homicide rates both here in Australia and in the US have been in decline for the last twenty years*)

When my Mum was growing up in the 1960s and 70s, it was television; that diabolical glowing box that would rot children’s brains and turn them into mindless desensitized zombies. Not to mention all that satanic rock and roll music. Surely they’d all grow up to be delinquents and civilization as we know it would implode.

Point is, every generation since the dawn of time has looked upon those that follow with concern and often disdain. New technology has always been viewed with suspicion. People fear change. This isn’t a new thing, it’s always been the case.

I for one refuse to part of this cycle. My generation turned out okay, as did my Mum’s, in spite of all the predictions of our doom. I have faith that the generations that follow us will find their own way as well.

 

*http://time.com/3577026/crime-rates-drop-1970s/

http://www.sbs.com.au/news/article/2012/03/04/violent-crimes-decrease-across-australia

