Dropping hints

by maximusaurus

I love that the sound of nature is basically a bazillion birds and insects trying desperately to get laid. Where am I going with this, you ask? Well, think of it this way; how many of the sounds and even smells around us are vital communications to other living things, but mere white noise to us, which we barely even notice much less understand?

For some of us, including myself, subtle “hints” in tone and body language can be similarly indecipherable!

For example, sometimes I forget that I’m even supposed to be examining body language and facial expressions. It doesn’t come naturally to me; it’s learned behaviour that I have to consciously remember to do. And even if I’m paying attention, sometimes it just doesn’t register; I don’t notice somebody’s rising tension or anger until they finally explode, which takes me off guard because to me it seems to come out of nowhere.

I can see how it might seem like I’m being insensitive, but the truth is that “hints” simply don’t show up on my radar most of the time. The best policy is just to come out and tell me things directly. And if you must hint, drop that sucker like an anvil dropped from a low flying space shuttle.

As ever when I write about autism, I’m merely speaking personal experience. I can’t speak for everyone; the spectrum is broad and diverse. But for me, and many of the people I know, “hints” mean about as much to us as a tap dripping in Morse code during a rainstorm.

It’s not that we are stupid or don’t care, we’re just not on the same wavelength.

