Unemployed in 2013, launching a company in 2015

by maximusaurus

The last two years of my life have been like surfing a runaway freight train with rockets strapped to it and no brakes.

Last night I had the privilege of being MC at the launch of I Can Network, an advocacy group run by people with autism, for people with autism. It’s a hugely exciting movement, and one I’m proud to be a part of.

Two years ago, just finding a job seemed like an impossible task, and it was inconceivable to me that I could ever help launch a company, or be a mentor for autistic teens, or do many of the things I have since then. I just didn’t think I was capable of such things. It blows my mind how much has changed for me in just 23 short months.

Of course, I didn’t do it alone; I met the most ridiculously awesome people along the way, who’ve challenged me to reject the limitations I placed on myself. That was what was holding me back; not a lack of abilities, but a lack of belief in my abilities. Many of you reading this have helped give me the confidence I needed to go on this extraordinary journey, and I cannot thank you enough.

At this rate, I can’t even guess where I’ll be in another two years, but I’m sure it’ll be a hell of a ride.

