Greatful

by maximusaurus

I like to remind myself sometimes of just how lucky I am. I have a roof over my head, clean running water, enough food to eat, and a bed to sleep in. How great is that? I’m healthy, I have disposable income, I’ve had an education. I have awesome friends and family. Talk about hitting the jackpot.

Gratitude is a powerful thing. Too often we take the positives in our life for granted. Recognizing them fosters optimism and satisfaction, instead of the envy and discontent we feel when he focus primarily on what we don’t have. I know that might sound kind of airy-fairy, but even if you’re like me and you don’t believe in auras or any of that jazz, this holds true in terms of simple psychology.

What I’ve found is that taking a few minutes now and then to appreciate and be grateful for all the good in my life is a fantastic mood booster. Here’s a few prompts I’ve found helpful:

– Think of something you used today that you would usually take for granted.

– Think of a person you’re particularly glad to have in your life.

– What’s the best thing that happened to you this week/month/year?

– What’s something you have now that you didn’t have five years ago, which has made your life better?

You one thing I’m grateful for? You. Yes, you, the one reading this. Without readers, this blog would be a silent song. Thank you for making it heard.

