2014 – One of the best years of my life

by maximusaurus

At the end of last year, I was unemployed, overweight, stressed out, and just kind of drifting through life like a dislodged sea sponge. (What do sea sponges have to be stressed about, you ask? Current events! No wonder many so many of them take up seaweed and port. If this has gone too far, just let minnow)

Anyway, it didn’t feel good, so I resolved to fix it.

To get started, I looked into volunteer work in my local area, and signed up to do Meals on Wheels in January, delivering food to the elderly. This got me out of the house, meeting people, and doing something productive with my time. (Other than converting oxygen to carbon dioxide)

I also overhauled my diet; out went the sugary cereals and the soft drinks, and the “fat free” foods that had like twice as much sugar as the regular versions. So yes, to lose weight, I switched from low fat to full fat. And it worked; I’m now in my ideal weight range.

In February, (an ancient word for the month now known as Febawerry) I finally took the advice of two of my closest friends, and started this blog. They’d both been telling me I should for months, and the only reason it took me so long was cos figuring out what to write about was kind of like picking a favourite grain of sand at the beach. In the end, I just jumped in head first, and it kinda sorted itself out. Thanks muchly, Cindy and Mana; all the good that’s come of this blog, I owe to you two.

As luck would have it, another friend of mine showed this blog to her boyfriend, whose mother worked with Asperger’s Victoria. They got in contact with me, and before I knew it, I was helping run a support group for young adults with autism, as well as volunteering with the I Can Network, an NGO who run camps, seminars, and other programs to assist people on the spectrum.

Between these jobs and this blog, I suddenly found myself regarded as a spokesperson on the topic of autism, and I am deeply proud and humbled to be seen as such.

Then, to put the cherry on top of this multilayered awesomeberry cake, the first new Godzilla movie in a decade came out this year, and it was everything I dreamed it would be.

So much has changed in the last 12 months; I’ve made some amazing new friends, I’ve found a job I love, I’ve lost 20kg, and I’ve ventured beyond my comfort zone and done things I never thought I could do, like helping run a camp for thirty teenagers! This time in 2013, it was inconceivable to me that I could come so far in just one year.

I can’t wait to see what delicious wonders 2015 has in store. Whether we’re friends in person, or you’re just a fellow denizen of the worldwide electronic spiderweb who reads my blog, thank you for being part of this transformative phase in my life.

